Home News The new feature in iOS 13 gives users more control over the...

The new feature in iOS 13 gives users more control over the apps that track their location

iOS apps

At the end of last month, we were transmitting the results of a survey conducted by The Wall Street Journal which showed how 99% of Apple’s third-party iOS apps in the App Store contained secret trackers. With Apple trying to set the pace when it comes to privacy for smartphone users, a new feature found in iOS 13 could help iPhone users know which apps are monitoring their position as they run in seconds. plane. The images published by 9to5 Mac show a couple of examples of how this new iOS feature will work.

It appears that iOS users will receive a pop-up notification from an app that is following them while they are running in the background. The notification explains why your location is being tracked; For example, the notification for the Apple Store app says “We’ll provide you with relevant products, features, and services depending on where you are.” Tesla’s app says it is monitoring the user’s location “to show its proximity to the vehicle (while the app is open) and to optimize the phone key on its compatible vehicles (while the app is running in the background). ”

The notification also asks if users want the follow-up to continue and that the options are “Change to Only While Using” and “Always allow“. The first means that the tracking will take place only when an app is running in the foreground, while the second indicates that the user is giving the app permission to trace his position in the foreground and in the background. The next version of iOS will also have the “Allow once” option, which grants the app permission to track a user’s location only once, which means the app will ask the owner of the device to re-run a selection the next time the app is open. The notification also includes a map showing the exact locations in which a particular app running in the background has been monitored by an iPhone user.

Apple says its customers are not the product

iOS 13

In addition to alerting users that a particular app is monitoring them while it is running in the background, the popup window also gives the developer the opportunity to try to convince users that they have a legitimate reason to track them. If the user buys it, he will select the “Always allow” option. Otherwise, you can tap “Switch to only While use”.

Since Facebook was involved in the Cambridge Analytics scandal (for which it will receive a fine of up to $5 billion), Apple and its CEO, Tim Cook, have greatly supported user privacy and the executive declared more times. Apple does not make its customer the product. However, Apple customers are a product for third-party app developers in the App Store. Some defend the practice by saying that those who install a free version of an app instead of the premium version should be able to collect their location data and sell it to advertisers; others say there are no good reasons to allow an app to track the location of an iPhone user. It is interesting to note that the Journal has discovered that premium applications track users as much as free apps.

Last Monday, Apple introduced iOS 13 on the first day of the annual WWDC developer conference. The latest version of Apple’s mobile operating system will be released in September. The iPhone 6s and the iPhone 6s Plus will be the older models that still receive the update, which means it’s more likely to be removed from iOS 14.

(Via: 9to5 Mac)

You may also like:

Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter so you can never miss an update on all the latest news from Apple, Google, Microsoft, and the Web.